writing · Writing gigs

My One Week Experience With Blogmutt

Source: Photo by Caio

Geesh. I never ever learn, do I?

A few months ago, I wrote a pretty detailed post of my experience with Fiverr and how it stacks up to creating your own  writing career freedom, away from these “gig sites and content mills”.

Well, a little over a week ago I began to have the “writer’s itch”. I wanted to create content for the web like I did with Examiner and Helium(both sites have since moved or changed completely!)

I spotted a site called Blogmutt.

Blogmutt allows you to write content, submit it and you get paid $8 for 250+ words. More words could have you earning $72 per post- if the customer buys your article.

This all sounds good right? I was amped and ready to go. Before I could officially become a Blogmutt writer though, I had to go through the rituals.

  • Take the grammar exam. Passed.
  • Writing and Plagiarism test. Passed.
  • Gave blogmutt my personal info for the W-9 form.

After all this, I received an email that read, “Congratualtions! You passed the exams! Now you have to write your first post. If your first post  is not accepted, you will be denied access to Blogmutt and can never write for us again.”

I wish I was exaggerating here, folks.

I wrote a pretty good article about Spanish language jobs and uploaded it to the site. I spent days on it, perfecting it, making sure it sounded just right.

Well, yesterday I go onto my Blogmutt dashboard and it reads, “ATTENTION: Your account has been suspended. We will not answer emails regarding the reasons.”

The creator must get off knowing he is an a%#@hole. The language spoken is unprofessional and the rules are not professional at all, and yet there are people, supposedly earning from this site.

This is what I mean by staying away from content mills. They take your work and then ban you for no apparent reason.

The only one I can blame is myself and maybe businesses.

If businesses want content for their sites, there are so many great writers out there and me making $8 per article is great if I write enough articles, but not enough to do the writing and then get banned.

I am not sure what tips I can offer here besides marketing yourself online and offline. Let people know you provide great web content services.

Until next time, keep writing! 🙂

4 thoughts on “My One Week Experience With Blogmutt

  1. Hey Erica,

    BlogMutt is a joke; DO NOT WRITE FOR THEM!

    A simple Google search will reveal their shady tactics of “suspending” writers without merit. This is particularly problematic given BlogMutt’s format, which involves writing posts in advance without the guarantee of those posts being purchased. So, if you have 50 posts completed that are sitting in clients’ queues and BlogMutt decides to suspend you for reasons unknown, you’ve just lost those 50 posts.

    Aside from its grossly incompetent managers, the pay at BlogMutt is absolutely horrible. Clients pay $25 for 250-word posts, for which the writer earns an appalling $8.

    If you’re looking to write for fun and want to gain more experience, perhaps BlogMutt may work — until they suspend your account and don’t respond to your emails. But if you want to get paid for writing, choose a different platform.

    1. Thank you for the comment! I agree, the $8 is horrible and also you must fill out paperwork with your personal info and then learn after one article, the account is suspended? I do not understand Blogmutt at all😒

  2. This happened to me too. I submitted my first post only and waited to see if it could be approved. Before it was even reviewed by admin, I found out that my account has been suspended. This is the message I received. “Your account has been suspended, and you are no longer able to write posts for BlogMutt. You can still invoice for posts that you have sold.
    Typical reasons for suspension of your writing privileges on the BlogMutt platform include:
    • A violation of our Terms of Service
    • An unacceptable decline rate as determined by our internal algorithm
    • Plagiarism
    We will not answer any emails regarding reasons for suspensions”.

    1. See. that is just crazy! After giving all your info and writing, to just be cut off like that? It is so much better to try and work for ourselves- as difficult as it is though.

      Sorry this happened to you. Keep writing and you will find better! Thanks for reading!

Comment and Join the Discussion!

