4.5 Star Review · book review · mystery novels

Guilty by Laura Elliot(My Honest Review)

 

guilty
Image courtesy of Bookouture

Guilty by Laura Elliot

Published by Bookouture June 22, 2017

ISBN:978-1786811424

*Book received for free from Netgalley*

______________________

Thirteen year old Constance Lawson goes missing one night and the prime suspect is her very own uncle, Karl Lawson.

The only reason he is a suspect is because young reporter, Amanda Bowe, has a way with words; she makes some startling connections, supposedly linking Karl to his niece’s disappearance.

Six years later, Karl’s life has been destroyed: His brother alienates him, his wife and child abandoned him, and Amanda Bowe is doing excellent.

What will it take for Amanda to understand the pain she put Karl through?

What I can say about this book, is that it keeps you guessing. That is a major point for me and was basically the bonus which gives this book its 4.5/5 hearts.

The reason this book gets four and half hearts, is not because it’s a bad book. To be honest, this story was pretty brilliant.

I just have not read a psych thriller in so long, I was lost at some points or didn’t care..? I cared about what happened in Karl’s life though.

The reporter is one character I did not like nor feel any connection with.

Also, at some point, I thought the story would end, but then the book twists into Amanda’s story. I honestly did not care about her and her life. I truly didn’t. But her story is the bonus of the book in some ways.

What ways you may ask? When it comes to a person being guilty, so many play their role in it too.

I am seriously considering reading more of Laura Elliot’s books.

2 thoughts on “Guilty by Laura Elliot(My Honest Review)

  1. Great review! I’m so glad you enjoyed it! I think you helped me figure out what I didn’t like about this book though! I seriously despised Amanda. So when it morphed into her story I was more like 😩😩 but why!

    I wanted to learn more about Karl. I think I would’ve loved the book more had the second half still be told mostly from his POV instead of Amanda’s! Thanks for helping realize that! Lol

Comment and Join the Discussion!

