4 Star reviews · African American · book review · Communicating with God · contemporary christian fiction

Her Secret Life by Tiffany L. Warren(a review)

Her Secret Life by Tiffany L. Warren
Published by Dafina Books(2017)
ISBN: 978-1-4967-0872-4
Book received for free from Netgalley

Note: This book can be categorized as Christian Fiction but has a few disturbing scenes and language you may find distasteful.

Her Secret Life was actually a pretty good book. It had all the right ingredients.

Including the ingredient for annoyance.

Onika was born to a cracked out black mother and handsome Puerto Rican father/pimp.

Her grandmother, Earlene ends up raising her in a strict, religious home.

Every day Onika and her grandmother prayed for her mother to be healed by God and for years that never happens. Coupled with Earlene’s ornery attitude, Onika eventually gives up on Church and God completely and no one can blame her at this point.

Eventually, Onika earns a full scholarship to a prestigious college in Washington, D.C. where she meets a handsome guy at least ten years older than she and that is when things get really interesting…

 She was Judy’s child. It was inevitable that she’d be addicted to something.  [Quote from Her Secret Life, 2017]

My Reaction:

Onika, Onika.

She is not my favorite character at all.

The book itself is actually quite good. It kept me up reading very late, I talked my husband’s ears off about it, so yeah it was pretty good.

The author wrote in a way that makes me believe she actually knew these people. I think this is what made me dislike Onika all the way around.

Onika comes off as proud and even intelligent. Then she’d turn around and do something utterly dumb.

There were times in the story where I lost all pity for this girl and I feel bad because I knew people who have been in bad situations like her so she has every right to feel like she need to keep her life private.

But to lie to everyone…?

Then disrespect those helping you?

I could not take it anymore. When I lose connection to a character, the story is lost for me. I began rooting for Graham(Onika’s new love interest) and enjoying Charmagne’s(Onika’s benefactor) character. Even though Charmagne was a holy roller and attributes every single thing to God all the time, she had a Christ-like attitude and was refreshing to the story.

This book also touches on issues such as colorism, drugs, and Christianity/Churchianity.

Again, a very nice book, but I abhorred Onika’s character.

Want more honest reviews about books? Subscribe to my blog 🙂
-The Write Web

Comment and Join the Discussion!

