Saturday Samplers · Uncategorized

Sample Saturday(The Lonely Planet Travel Anthology)

lonely planet

The Lonely Planet Travel Anthology

Publisher: The Lonely Planet(Nov. 1, 2016)

Edited by Don George

Various Authors

Format: Kindle*

I have never just picked up a travel guide and read it. I get that there are travel writers out there, but as a fiction/memoir kind of chick, I thought it would be out of my league…

Why Did I Sample this Book?

  1. Contrary to my own belief, we can all learn from travel guides. Particularly how to describe people and places well.
  2. In this particular anthology, I learned about “brilliant suns” of Australia, the urge of happiness when a cabbie in Bangkok actually shows up to give you a lift and the powerful, yet silent friendship on a train that leads to a bedroom where even more silence happens.
  3. A travel essay/guide is essentially a brief memoir.
  4. Lastly, you feel as if you’ve traveled to the place yourself.

I read more than a few stories in here and hope to find more travel writing I enjoy.

Have an amazing and Blessed Resurrection Sunday/Easter!  🙂

*This anthology can be downloaded for free for two weeks from Freading.com!

Comment and Join the Discussion!

