contemporary christian fiction · writing

4 Surprising Reasons Anyone Can Enjoy Christian Fiction

Shadow of Colossus
Shadow of Colossus by T.L. Higley

I review lots of books in many categories. From Teen Fiction to Sensual Romance, yet Christian Fiction holds a very special place in my heart.

I hope that after reading this list, you would consider reading some Christian titles yourself.

Reason #1: The Sweetness of It

Under the category of Christian Fiction, you find these beautiful, lovely books about a more simplified way of life. I don’t know why I am drawn to them. I fell in love with Amish Fiction when I read The Englisher by Beverly Lewis. Romance in a time of simplicity is a sweet diversion from what I usually read.

Reason #2: A Better Alternative for Any Faith

If you’re like me, then picking the right book can be hard when you are in the faith. Again, I review a bit of everything and I do mean everything.

But if you are looking for an uplifting book without all the sex scenes and swear words and promotion of ungodliness, then Christian Fiction is great. I enjoyed David Gregory’s Dinner With a Perfect Stranger and A Day With a Perfect Stranger series.

These small books of no more than one hundred pages, are very powerful and uplifting and perfect for church libraries!

Reason #3: Every Age Can Enjoy the Books.

Tired of having to sift through books to see what your children can read without muddying their minds?

Christian Fiction typically offers books that are “clean”. This means even in the teen category of Christian Fiction, the books are pretty much acceptable. Most address serious topics with rawness and caution at the same time.

One particular speculative fiction I enjoyed was Captives by Jill Williamson. In fact, the book could be in any category not just Christian Fiction because it is so futuristic, full of action, some romance, and reminds you of the Hunger Games just a bit.

I fell in love with that book and am tempted to read it over again…

Reason#3: Gothic…Sensual, Pick Your Flavor.

In recent years, certain Christian authors have appealed to wider audiences and some even linked with secular writers to create unique stories.

One of my favorite Christian Fantasy/Paranormal authors is Debbie Viguie. I fell in love with Kiss of Night and Kiss of Death as well as her addicting Crusade series co-authored with Nancy Holder.

Julie Lessman has a similar superpower, but hers is honed in the art of passion. I fell in love with Lessman’s writing beginning with A Passion Most Pure.

She is unashamed in capturing the raw love a man has for a woman, his touches, his kisses, the taunts and banter- I love it! Currently, I am reading Book 2 in the Isle of Hope Series, Love Everlasting.

Another interesting writer of contemporary and historical books, is Lisa Tawn Bergren, author of the Northern Lights trilogy(I absolutely adored that series!)

Reason #4: You Can Even Have Smart Fiction

When I think of Smart Fiction, I think of writers like Tosca Moon Lee.

She takes historical pieces we’ve been told and then with her incredible writing talent, shows us what could have happened.

I was in a Christian bookstore one day, years ago, and I remember seeing this scarlet, paperback book lying on a shelf called Demon: A Memoir.

I was like, “What inspirational bookstore would carry that?”

And knowing me, I had to have it.

I bought it and read it.

Then re-read it.

Talked about it. Couldn’t believe how mysterious and potent it was.

Then I read her book, Havah: The Story of Eve. Iscariot. Books, that only she could write.

Let’s not forget T.L. Higley. I remember staying up really late reading her historical novels like Garden of Madness, City of the Dead, Guardian of the Flame, and a few others worth reading. But it began with Shadow of Colossus.

The books I’ve listed do not preach at you. They are well written stories by people who have a faith in God. Their stories are built upon their faith, yes, because what is in a person comes out, but the books are creative and entertaining like any other.

Probably more so than some books out here.

Some authors of note for you to check out whose works I have enjoyed:

Ted Dekker

Julie Cave

C.S. Lewis

Victoria Christopher Murray

Sigmund Brouwer

Jerry Jenkins

Tim LaHaye

Cindy Woodsmall

Linda Windsor

Please Like. Subscribe. Share and comment. Thank you!

Blessings 🙂

 

Comment and Join the Discussion!

