Creative Writing · Devices for Reading · Smashwords · Wattpad Stories · writing · Youth/Young Adult

Is Wattpad the App for You?

Woman writing
Writing for Wattpad Can be Fun/ Image taken from stokpic.com

Wattpad may be the best social app for writers and readers out there, but don’t be discouraged or surprised if you find your works aren’t being read and as popularized as others.

I have learned quite a bit about Watppad within the last year and even though I really enjoy the app, it is not something that is working for me at the time. Perhaps you are thinking of posting up free stories on there too and so hopefully this quick guide can help.

Published or Unpublished, Unleash it on Wattpad

One of the first stories I published on Wattpad is Weight and See. I began it sometime around February 2016 or March?

By the end of June 2016-roughly three months, I had at least 800+ reads and quite a few comments. From one reader.

It was not a story I published previously, just one I wrote off the top of my head and I uploaded it weekly. Finally, I took it down and published it on Smashwords where currently it has 1,071 downloads.

What was the secret?

After not even getting a burp on Wattpad, I finally decided to tag my book properly. It was a teen fiction first and foremost, that happened to have romance in it. Also, I tagged it according to location, serious matters, and as general fiction. That may have helped.

Either way, I was jealous of teen writers with 1.5k reads and likes…

One Wattpader decided to upload an already published novel for free and she grabbed more fans that way.

Teen Fiction Rules in that Domain

Estelle Maskame

Ashley Royer

Are just two of many who have made their debut on Wattpad and are now publishing mavens with agents.

Both are in high school.

Some Wattpaders who are adults, write teen fiction and if they achieve the right voice and audience, make it big.

My favorite Wattpad author(including the gifted ones above) is LD Crichton, who writes new adult and teen fiction.

Not into writing for the much younger, pubescent audience? That is quite alright. Wattpad has many categories you can sift your writing chops into, just take note that right now Wattpad is dominated by the teen fiction category.

Why?

My opinion is that when Wattpad first began, teens took to it more and faster.

It is social media after all and you read free books all day long. Even I like that idea. You can literally type a whole book on your phone and upload it right after.

The Wattpad App, Technicalities

Yes. Wattpad is great.

The app is proclaimed as magical.

Yet there are some bugs Wattpad need to fix.

First of all, I was working on a teen fiction the other day and decided, “Let me write this on my mobile phone. For a new writing experience. Should be fun.”

And it was.

For a day.

Next thing I knew, I published my chapters and one was missing.

Wattpad warns you to never delete a story or even part of it because you cannot undo it.

So I did the “unpublished” then “re-publish” thing. Still not working.

I copied my chapter on my Android phone, and deleted the story. That way I can just copy to a new empty chapter- start over right?

Nope.

Nothing worked, nothing showed up. I deleted part of my story. I will never see it again.

Wattpad needs to fix this. Allowing Wattpaders to delete their story while giving a few days before a story is deleted permanently, is a better solution.

What Writing Platform is Working for Me?

Right now, Smashwords is awesome for me. I complete the manuscript, edit and upload it and the readers pour in faster than on Wattpad.

Just like Smashwords, Wattpad has an algorithm. You must use proper keywords, tags, update regularly(Smashwords prefer you post multiple books if you want to see great results), and an awesome cover and blurb.

I may use Wattpad again one day, I will definitely read stories on there now. But it is definitely too “loud” to be heard. Even with their writing contests, it has been rumored that those who are already popular on Wattpad may get chosen over you.

My advice? Try them all out. See what works best for you.

Patience is also the key, which is why perhaps I should have kept my teen fiction on there, seeing as people have requested a part 2 now.

Good luck to you all and let me know of your experience!

Comment and Join the Discussion!

