Writing About…The Kind Reactions

This week was very hard for me to focus on kindness and I think it is because of all the news and social media junk I soak in. Some days I tune it out, but some days I am addicted to news- good or bad. But yesterday proved to be a sweet, sweet day.

Let me back up to earlier in the week.

I work in retail so I see hundreds of people a day. Most of them I can say are very kind and the other 20% need to take a “chill pill”.

For instance, I said “Hello, how are you?” to a customer on Friday and she looked at me, pursed her lips, and went back to putting things on the counter. The entire time during the transaction, she was extremely quiet.

Now, usually when this happens, I just ignore the person completely and communicate in their language. This customer wanted to use silence as a language between us, so in my mind I was like, “Okay, I can do that too.”

Now towards the end of her transaction, I swallowed my pride and helped her with her bags, handed her the receipt and said “Have a nice day!”

She said “Thank you, you too.” In a quiet voice.

Now, I don’t know what she is going through or maybe she wanted to be rude, either way I could have reacted just like her.

Which would have proved her right.

And would have cost me my job and reputation.

However, yesterday, after taking care of home business and other financials, I spent time with my in laws and had fun with the kids and hung out for lunch. The love, the sweetness and kindness I experienced yesterday is in my heart today. It was beautiful, sunny and relaxing. Loved it!

I pray your weeks went well and I look forward to reading your kind posts!

7 thoughts on “Writing About…The Kind Reactions

  1. Being kind can be especially hard when we don’t feel the person we are interacting with “deserves” it. I’m so glad that you chose to be kind because sometimes the ones that “deserve” it least, need it most. Thank you so much for your honesty in this post. I hope that this week brings you much kindness! ❤

Comment and Join the Discussion!

