Angels · book review · heaven · Holy

Come to the Garden Review, Was it all a dream?

Come to the Garden book with blue sky and lavender flowers
Cover Design courtesy of Howard Books

Did Jennifer Wilder Morgan have a powerful dream about an angel? A vision? Or was this something else?

Come to the Garden is marketed as a “Inspired by True Events” novel. However, is it really true and at the end, does it matter?

Here is my opinion of the book:

I really love angel books. I do. And Jennifer Wilder Morgan has penned a lovely, enriching story that’s captivating.

I have done many blog posts on angels: from what angels are made of, to fiction involving angels.

In the Author’s Note, Jennifer states,

Soon, the character of an intriguing angel named Margaret began to shape in the eyes of my heart. I would write a fictional story about her.”(Come to the Garden, pg. xiii)

In the Acknowledgements section, Jennifer even states: “I had a dream and wasn’t going to settle for a personal journal.”

So in essence, what we are reading is an allegory. Which in itself isn’t a bad thing.

Jennifer’s guardian angel explores her dreams. These dreams Jennifer has are about loved ones passing or being ill, and some dreams bring about hope, such hope that even you as the reader will stop and praise God for her vision, and then other dreams are wholly prophetic.

And her gentle, beautiful guide is right there explaining the metaphors and symbols(pay attention to these!)

I felt invited while reading. I felt that even my own dreams and fears were finally explained just by reading this book.

At the final page, I took a breath, read some of the Scriptures offered in the back and reflected on what I’ve read.

Perhaps Jennifer’s own events inspired her to create the angel Margaret. Now, whether this is real or if angels are guardians versus messengers is set for another discussion elsewhere. All I know is that I am now inspired.

*This book was received for free from Howard Books through Jennifer’s publicist.

Book Details:

Come to the Garden, Jennifer Wilder Morgan

Published by Howard Books(2016)

ISBN: 978-1-5011-3133-2(paperback)

*Also available in audio. Want it free? Please visit my Come to the Garden free audible giveaway which ends May 16,2016 so you can share the experience! Also narrated by Kathie Lee Gifford, the Today show host.

3 thoughts on “Come to the Garden Review, Was it all a dream?

  1. Thank you for your honest review of my book! I completely understand your question.. Is this real or fiction.. Even the publisher had a hard time deciding how to categorize this book. This is an account… My personal story.. of my real life experiences and dreams/visions. When I began writing, I had a hard time with how to structure the story, and then I had a dream that suggested using an angel. Hence, the Angel Margaret was born in my imagination. This angel (what I believe to be the Holy Spirit) and several fictional elements helped me to tell my real story and to move it along. Truly a blend of fiction and non fiction. Not easy to categorize. It was my insistence that the words ” inspired by true events” appear on the cover. I would be happy to answer any questions you might have. May God bless you always! ~ author Jennifer Wilder Morgan 💐

Comment and Join the Discussion!

