book review · Youth/Young Adult

Teen Fiction Alert: This Song is (Not) For You by Laura Nowlin

This song is not for you
Book Cover courtesy of Sourcebooks Fire/ Design by Ericajean

The premise and the blurb is what got me going. It all sounded so good and I suppose I expected something…more?

I recommend This Song Is (Not) For You because it involves teenagers finding their way and defining what love and success is in their own eyes. On that note alone, the book is gold.

However.

And this is a big however. Actually I have two howevers.

Despite this book being well written. I am not a fan of more than two POVs. I actually like first person or third person omniscient. Multiple voices cuts me off from the true power of a main character’s viewpoint. I enjoyed Sam and Ramona’s view and some of Tom’s views were entertaining as well, although disturbing.

This leads me to the next however. The point of the book is that Ramona is in love with Sam and always has been and suddenly she falls for Tom- but Sam handles this well. Too well.

I expected blasts of jealousy from Sam and certainly he begins to feel some type of way therefore making the story a tiny bit believable.

Again, awesome writing even great characterization, just different for me.

*This book was received for free for my unbiased review from Netgalley.

Comment and Join the Discussion!

