African American

Coffee Will Make You Black by April Sinclair (a review)

Coffee Will Make You BlackCoffee Will Make You Black by April Sinclair
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

-Book received free from Netgalley for my unbiased review.

Coffee Will Make You Black by April Sinclair will make you laugh.

Make you sigh.

Make you mad and other emotions.

Jean “Stevie” Stevenson is eleven and growing up on the windy streets of Chicago. It is late 1960’s and a lot is about to change. Including her own outlook of what she hopes to become.

As the book’s narrator Stevie takes us through the origins of most black dialect you hear now like:  “Chile, please!” or “Black is Beautiful”-although some blacks still had trouble swallowing that truth, and then we learn the sexy meaning of “Love Comes Down.”

Stevie also invites us to those cataclysmic movements of the 60s when Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Was assassinated and the fear of riots within her own hometown, which leads to the rise of revolutionaries within her own school and causes her to question perming her hair or leaving it natural.

To Stevie, black power is truly being born.

My Reaction.

If you are African American(or Black if you prefer), then this book will touch you as it touched me. It was like fitting into my grandmother’s lap again. April Sinclair’s writing is that colorful and sharp.

Anyone else will be entertained, maybe educated but unable to put a book this good down. So many shining moments stick out, like when Stevie defended her right to wear her afro or the sadness she can see buried behind her father’s eyes.

Honestly, Stevie seemed so old to be so young and it came off characteristically unrealistic to a point, but the redeeming quality is that Stevie makes blunders in her life we can see.

A lovely introduction to a series!

 

View all my reviews

6 thoughts on “Coffee Will Make You Black by April Sinclair (a review)

  1. Funny that I was writing a blog post about E. Lynn Harris two days ago and was going through my “Black box” (of books I need shelves for) and came across my Sinclair books😊

    1. I remember in 2004 or 2006 I was reading all those books: E. Lynn Harris, Zane, Eric Jerome Dickey and other black writers. I had those books, I still love those.

Comment and Join the Discussion!

