Communicating with God · Examining Poetry

National Poetry Month Begins With “In the Beginning…”

The Heavens
Photo by Kevin Alan Lamb for kevinalanlamb.com “Heavens and Heathens”

I jumped out of my bed this morning and went around searching for my old book of classic poetry and I came across a King James bible a friend gave to me at least two years back. And the most poetic, sweetest, most controversial stanza woke me up faster than a hot cup of java…

In the beginning God created the heaven and the earth. And the earth was without form and void; and darkness was upon the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God moved upon the face of the waters.”(Genesis 1:1-2 KJV)

I read somewhere once that the term poem is something like a dance. It is lyrical, it moves, and it conveys a message.

All through the years I have read Genesis and never had I felt such an emotional punch than I did this morning.

Some Devices Used

  • Metaphor
  • A sense of order

To be honest, I am not so sure that the purported writer Moses wanted this to be read as  poem but I can dream, right? But when I read “the face of the deep”-comparing the black sea of void with a person’s face(metaphor), I am in a state of awe imagining the Creator kissing His creation. It is black and formless but He can see its potential.

And because of this formless place and the love from the Spirit of God blessing it, it evokes a sense of awe and controversy. A kind of order is established:

God created…the earth was without form and dark…Darkness was on the face of the deep…and the Spirit of God moved upon the face of the waters.

It reads like the tango and requires a partner to lead and God leads in this formation and for centuries and forever on end, these two small verses can separate friendships, families and creates extremely heated debates in science and theology courses.

What do I think?

The foundation for life and poetry begins here. What are your thoughts- and have you found any poetic pieces in an ancient text? What have you discovered?

2 thoughts on “National Poetry Month Begins With “In the Beginning…”

  1. since we are formed in God’s likeness, I won’t be surprised if the foundation of life &poetry is traced back to God!
    no wonder the greatest psalmist of all time was God’s friend!

    nice blog!

    1. Thanks for reading my post, hardethaewoh!
      And yes, the true foundation of poetry, the arts, etc. is traced back to our Father—God. I love it!

Comment and Join the Discussion!

