Day 6 Ballad: My Hero(ine), A Parable That’s Flown

Over at Writing 201, we have to create a poem about our hero(ine) using a ballad, anaphora, and epistrophe

octavia butler
Image found on http://archaeology.about.com/cs/quotes/qt/quote129.htm

She was born in Pasadena 1947
A parable that sows
A parable that sows
Her words, her worlds- Mind of my Mind

Introduced to her books one late Spring,
In 2006 I read Fledgling,
Blood, sex, and vamps Oh my, oh me!
A stellar sci-fi fantasy

I wonder if she’s in Xenogenesis
Living out her work
A Brown skinned Blood Child
Breaking the fate of fiction

You’ve changed what I read,
You inspire what I write
You are a parable that sows
A parable that has flown..

*I tried my hardest with this ballad and since I knew I could break a few rules, I figured hey- Octavia’s worth it.

2 thoughts on “Day 6 Ballad: My Hero(ine), A Parable That’s Flown

  1. Thanks for sharing this 🙂 Fledgling… I’d love to read that. Does she use vampires as a metaphor for something?

    1. Hi Juliet!

      I read the book a long time ago, but what I can remember are that the vampires were like in a symbiotic relationship to humans in which their saliva was swapped with people and the person became like a “pet” to them in a way. But in classic Butler fashion there seemed to be a deeper cultural truth embedded there. I must read it again and I am so sorry that she is gone because she wrote with such brilliance. In fact, the way the book ended there should be a second part. I do hope you get the chance to read it.

Comment and Join the Discussion!

