African American · book review · New Adult · Romance

Hope for Her by Sydney Aaliyah Michelle ( a review)

” The book was so amazing I did not care about grammar or any of that. I just wanted to know-will they ever be alright?”

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

*Book received for my unbiased review from Netgalley

Joshua Griffin IV is back from rehab and attending FSU under the hope that he will finish school and not be an embarrassment to his family name any longer. The drugs, the drinking, the parties- all of it should be behind him.

Enter ebony beauty, Carrington Olivia Butler from Texas;this is her first year at FSU. However the handsome guy with the hazel eyes has caught her attention. The two enter into a whirlwind relationship that is passionate and volatile.

My Thoughts

Let me get this part out of the way first.

The grammar and misspelling was constant and nearly made me stop reading the book. It was very distracting. I think this was an uncorrected proof so I will shut up about it now.

But I do know that the book held my attention all night long and through the day. I thought of Carrington and Josh while at work and the events that occurred in the book haunted my thoughts. The book was so amazing I did not care about grammar or any of that. I just wanted to know-

Will they ever be alright?

Carrington comes off as the black girl who had everything. In the beginning she seemed as if she would be sweet and shy and an understanding person. In some ways she truly was. However given Josh’s past I thought she would show mercy to him(even though he followed her around like a sad dog-I know. Creepy!)

Then Josh does something stupid. Well, there were many stupid things he has done but Carrington calls him out on it:

“I can’t help but notice a little similarity in your parent’s story and us and I don’t know. It’s kind of a lot of pressure. I don’t want to be your escape.”(Hope For Her: Sydney Aaliyah Michelle, p.152)

I know his father is rich and all, but what transpires in this awesome little book made me rethink my thoughts on Josh. He needs help. The psychosis of Josh is enough to fill a Psych 101 textbook. He is just that damaged.

But I think that this being a New Adult novel makes it so germane to many twenty- somethings who are in relationships but who have sordid pasts and do not have the right people to talk to. I think Sydney Aaliyah Michelle really shines with this book and I hope to read more by her. Such an emotionally touching book.

View all my reviews

Comment and Join the Discussion!

