Marriage · relationships · Romance · writing

Disobedience

 

The Sextant by Vyrhelle-VyrL for Deviant Art
The Sextant by Vyrhelle-VyrL for Deviant Art

You anointed me,

rubbing in words like

“sweetheart” and “sexy” into

my virginal dictionary.

Now I know what love is.

 

When I eat,

I can’t stomach it

the butterflies has taken over the

field of roses and I stare at

you, rather dreaming to

touch you, than eat.

Now I know what love is.

 

I obeyed curfews

in the past,

the dutiful, astute Daughter

who hung on her father’s every word

of advice

until I found a prince-

And that prince awakened something

inside me, each night we met

beneath the stars.

Now I know what love is.

 

And when I see a child,

And I see the smile

and I see the pride in their eyes

the tux, the gown, the March-

Now I know what I want.

-Erica Jean

 

Comment and Join the Discussion!

