book review · Romance · Youth/Young Adult

Review: ‘John Dreamer’

John DreamerJohn Dreamer by Elise Celine

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

What did I think of John Dreamer…?

Let me tell you what I expected.

-More intense character backdrop.
-More romance- but not too early.
-Something I can understand, yet something very profound at the same time.

The basic story.
Andy wakes up in a room with six strangers. The only one that caught her eyes though was the very handsome boy with green eyes-John Dreamer.

How did they land in a Great White Room? Were they dead? Alive? Either way, at each moment a guy called The Guardian would drop hints as to how they should behave and what they can and can not do. he would arrive in a cloud or just magically appear singing songs and prancing around…

Meanwhile each person tries to figure out a way to escape. Especially Roy- the resident bad guy.

The other side of my opinion.

[SPOILER]

I do like where Celine Elise “tried” to travel with her writing. Each person had to face their fears in order to get out and achieve their dreams-I applaud the moral of this story. We need more of it.

Characters’ lives are revealed in tiny pieces and even then I still felt zero sympathy for either of them. Again the idea was awesome- the execution was something to be desired.

Secondly- John Dreamer or John D. Remur, the green eyed boy? I can not explain what I thought he was. It is too complicated. What he truly is, is someone from Andy’s past. But I seriously thought he had some huge secret or was a part of a gigantic conspiracy.

Or maybe I missed the point?

Recap: Great idea, great descriptions but I was left wanting something more…something different.

*This book was received for my unbiased review from Netgalley.

View all my reviews

Comment and Join the Discussion!

