Books You Should Read Right Now: October 2013

Below you’ll find a listing of books I personally think people should read right now. Some I have reviewed, others have fancy blurbs. I know sometimes I have trouble finding what I really want to read, but if I hear enough about a book or one has touched me in some way- I will post it here. So here is my list, beginning with Ellen Hopkins’ “Smoke”- a book that made me cry this morning.

Pattyn Von Stratten’s father is dead and she is on the run. After shooting her father, Pattyn finds her life suddenly different from what she has known but ghosts always haunt you in dreams, words, people’s questions…Made me cry real tears…wow!

Thalli has fifteen minutes and twenty-three seconds left to live. The toxic gas that will complete her annihilation is invading her bloodstream. But she is not afraid.

Thalli is different than others in The State. She feels things. She asks questions. And in the State, this is not tolerated. Made me think: Should I even want to feel?

David A. Rich introduces us to some truths that are not really new but may be new to you if you have not cracked open the bible yourself. Some of these truths were hard to believe but he patiently gives scriptures to back up his beliefs and many of them I believed already.
Have to take a right wing approach here. Or is it the left when I want the truth?

Reading “Requiem” took me through hills, shrubs, and patterns of roses and lilies that honestly I expected from such a descriptive author who knows how to tell a good story. For me, Requiem have so much going for it and then for some reason- something fell a little flat- but I still love Oliver’s writings. Made me think: A love that never dies…even when it shouldn’t have been born.

Avenger was a delight to read. Nikki Youngblood has finally realized what she is: A Halfling. But what kind? With the help of her new found family and her boyfriend Mace, Nikki will have to conquer her feelings, the Seeker that is killing Halflings, and even her own dark side. Here, we have angel craze. A series for that good angel bad angel fix.

I enjoy that the characters are multiracial. There is no one race and no one type of person. Also, the dialogue is witty, snappy, and sizzling. This is what kept up the pace for me. Handsome Cambions, come to drink souls and stir up mess.

Comment and Join the Discussion!

