Grab a book, start a poem: Some thoughts on beginning poeming

blanks,businesses,empty,Fotolia,letters,lined,lists,messages,notebooks,notepads,notes,offices,pads,pages,papers,pens,Photographs,to-do,writes,writings
Image from Microsoft Office

 

I have been revisiting poetry again, and as you well know I enjoy poetry and whatever way I can help others with the struggle of poeming, I am more than happy to do so.

Grabbing up books on poetry is one of the best ways to get a better look at how other poets do it before you dive in. Or, if you’re like me, you just dive right in and after the fact you learn about little things like “form, style. rhyme and rhythm, and chapbooks”- you know, important stuff like that. Again, I am happy to have been on that fault line of confusion and am trying to find my way back. In fact, I am thinking of getting a book I checked out before at the library to assist me again in poeming

Right now, all of my focus is on  poetry, but am way too shy to give public readings. The last public speech I gave was a an elegy for my father December 2012 and even that was hard. But I know that people will only realize you exist if you speak to them.

Any helpful tips on poetry reading is welcome~ Truly!

Next order of business is learning some traditional forms. I am a free verse type of gal which allows me to spill words on the page without restraints, but lately I am seeing some really great¬†patterns and traditions I’d like to challenge myself more with: specifically Gogyohka¬†and Haiku as well as some Sestinas and Sonnets. Learning to break free sometimes involve learning how your shackles work, no?

Comment and Join the Discussion!

