relationships · writing

‘The Tongue of My Heart’- a poem

flowers,hearts,love,nature,symbols
Image courstesy of Microsoft Office Images

Just the tongue of my heart

that has kissed your bad luck

of straggling with me and

carrying the bricks

Just the tongue of my heart

finally welcoming you into

all that is me and all you

hope me to be as we meet

first

Just the tongue of my heart

in your dreams and your mind

that once we start, I’ll be yours

and you’ll be-

Is it the lash of the words

or the way that I sway

my hair and my eyes

and you thought I was no more

than face, neck, and back

You thought I was

less than the vixen or the

supermodel lying in gloss

pages in your pickup

and here my words have

quickened your heart

and you wonder how slow you

could have seemed to

others…

how we take our time to

drink verbals with each other….

Comment and Join the Discussion!

