Christians and Versatile Writing

Imageafter

I promised in my last post to explain what it means to be versatile with genres of choice to read and write. I suppose there are many reasons why people choose the books they read- emotions and moods, curosity, work, school reports. anything.

My aunt one day handed me this thick, pink book of Inspirational Fiction with Christian themes- they were all romances and I read the book and actually loved it.

I fell in love with Romantic CF but soon I fell in love with another genre- African American Romance/ Erotica while in college. After that I discovered YA books again with the introduction of Twilight in 2008.

Different books have shown me different facets of my own heart:

  • R.L. Stine/Horror: showed me I can be spooked from the pen of an author and what power words can have.
  • Christopher Pike/Speculative-Horror: Christopher Pikes books took me to places where vampires can cry and young girls could be gods, and there is an answer to the afterlife if we search hard enough.
  • Christian Fiction/General: Helps me to see my life struggles and happiness are not my own. Some books have actually helped me with my prayer life!
  • African American Romances: Black women need love too 🙂 Yeah thats all I got out of most of them…

Books rooted in a certain theme or religion are not bad books if the writing is good. Period.

However I am born human first with many sins and my color, culture and religion all come after that fact(singer Erykah Badu can explain this better than I can!)

I have learned so much spirituality from secular fiction as I have from Christian Fiction. Put another way:

Secular Fiction= the reality of the need for a Savior.

Christian Fiction= written more about the need for a Savior and not just those who are already saved.

For now I am comfortable in my skin, enjoy good music, books, and what I write about. All these things are me.

Question: Why do you like Christian Fiction/Secular/Both?

Comment and Join the Discussion!

