Author interview · Self publishing · writing

Like pirates? Like adventure? Interview with Molly Evangeline explores fantasy, faith and independent publishing

Molly Evangeline, author of Makilien Book 1: Truth

Molly is a prolific writer of all things fantasy, including those stories reflecting her love for pirates which was boosted from watching Pirates of the Caribbean. Now she is the independent author of five books. She will illuminate what it truly means to be free from traditional publishing…for the time being.

Erica:What inspires you to write about pirates and other fantasy genres?

Molly:The initial inspiration to writing about pirates came from seeing Pirates of the Caribbean: Curse of the Black Pearl on my fifteenth birthday. That immediately got me interested in pirates and sailing, and I began the first book of my pirate series. The excitement eventually wore off and I didn’t end up finishing the book until a couple years later. As I went on in the series, my fascination with pirates turned more into a deep love of the time period and life at that time. It’s still one of my favorite time periods, and I hope to write more stories set in that time someday. I’ve had my love of fantasy for a bit longer. That came from the writing of J.R.R. Tolkien. My mom read The Hobbit to me and my brothers when we were pretty young, and when I saw The Fellowship of the Ring movie when I was thirteen, I was hooked.

Erica:  I see that you were a fan of the Babysitters club- me too! What kinds of books/genres do you read now ?

Molly:At the moment, Christian fantasy is hands-down my favorite. Though I’m very selective, I’m always on the lookout for a good fantasy read. I’m not in the habit of buying many books, but my last several purchases have been fantasy fiction. I love adventure. I’m also a huge fan of historical fiction. Anything pertaining to medieval times or the 1700s-1800s is my favorite. I love stories of knights, colonial times, and cowboys.

Erica: There seems to be trend in supernatural stories geared towards young adults;  from a Christian perspective why do you think this is? From a writer’s perspective?

Molly:Mostly, I think it’s just the world we live in. There is no doubt a fight going on for the minds of young people. Satan will use anything he can to influence us. Not saying all supernatural fiction is bad, but there is an unbelievable amount of stories I would never recommend to anyone.

In the world we live in, it seems that more and more lines are being blurred. And the sad thing is, it’s both Christians and non-Christians. That’s why Christian authors should be especially careful with what we write. We influence our readers too. From a writer’s perspective, the trend is natural. When one author hits on something big, others will want to get in on it and hope to have the same success. If an audience loves something, they’ll want more…

*The rest of this interview was on examiner.com. Sadly, the site is no longer available.

Comment and Join the Discussion!

