Self publishing · Tracking an Author

Tracking An Author: Character Masks and Literary Roads I Fear

Beijing Opera Mask
© Easyhwa | Dreamstime.com

So far I have managed to get a few gems of conflict within my pages based off of characters’ profiles. Remember the blog post I did in July 2011 on creating characters first to get a story? Well, you still need a main idea/theme/some kind of thread to pull all of that together and Lord knows this has been gnawing at my mind for some time. So here are some writing roads I have experienced while creating my novel-hopefully these would help you, or if you have other ideas you can help me!

First, my major characters involve a playboy and a young woman who is quite confused. They both have friends/past/internal and external conflicts and these are what forged new seeds for a plot.  This new plot could be changed because each character is wearing a “mask” so to speak and that is where the irony comes in…maybe this could work?

Second, once I saw a thread forming I just ran with the story.

Third; I have some fears as I write. As usual, while clicking away on the keyboard, I enjoy the story. But will others? Some pages seem to have the character moving along the same setting(school-home-school-home, a picnic?) Does this seem boring? The conflict is the exciting part…should settings matter at all?

Will I want to read it?

When I am done I have ro reread with fresh eyes. This is the beauty of creating stories.

What do you think?

3 thoughts on “Tracking An Author: Character Masks and Literary Roads I Fear

  1. It’s always interesting for me to see when someone has an entirely different approach to writing than I do — I’ve never been able to write my best work by actively creating. It just sort of happens, and I write it down. The world is full of different people.

    I was thinking about the setting thing myself, though. What I came up with was this: yes, setting is integral to a story, but you can bring those places to life no matter how mundane they are if you pick the most memorable, textured details to share with your readers. Maybe at home there’s a quirky collection of old-fashioned keys lining the hall that used to belong to the protagonist’s grandmother — she doesn’t have the heart to get rid of them. (Maybe one even opens something special, but even if it doesn’t, it’s good imagery). Maybe in an effort to stimulate multiple learning types the school plastered the walls with colorful posters and is so visually loud that it gives the characters a headache. Maybe the color of the tile on the floor is something remarkable. It doesn’t have to be overly significant to the story, but if you bring a setting to life with careful details, even the “boring” places seem vibrant.

    1. Thats an excellent idea, Emmie! sometimes when we think of setting we think of just places with static objects(I have a tendency to think that) but even someone’s home or even the mall can have significant coloring, objects and other things going on.

      Thanks so much for your comment and happy writing!

Comment and Join the Discussion!

