eBook Harmony vs. Going Green With Print Books

jurvetsonWhat is an eBook?

What is a print book?

In the first question posed, I purposely joined the “e” to a capitalized “B” in book to show the harmony and disharmony of joining up print with eBooks. The print book however is the progenitor or parent of the books in print and electronic form. This disjonted harmony forms a song I am quite afraid to sing.

For instance, craving print books is so much more than just feeling attached to the “ink on a tree”.  David Gaughgran a blogger at WordPress states that “going to the bokshelves and cracking open a book, and breathing in its essence only to “caress” the pages” is what reading a book in a bookstore is all about. It is more than about holding on and not moving along. Yet on the same token I hate to come off like  church traditionalist, afraid of changes and not being “down” with the times.  For me reading  a physical book takes me through “lovemaking stages.

  • I purchase the book based on whether I am familair with the author or just love the blurb on the back and design on the front. If this book is purchased online, I may read a few pages for free through Amazon’s Look Inside feature.
  • Once the book arrives to my door/or once I buy it out of a store, I come home and rub the cover. In this case, the cover is usually appealing because it is so smooth,  if it is a David Cook(publisher) book like Waterfall by Lisa T. Bergren, there is an almost felt, feathery touch to it and now I am primed to turn the book over. I read the blurb again, sniff the cover, rub it and then,
  • I crack open the first page. This page tells me the bare minum about a book, the copyright, license, place of publishing etcetera, but then I am ready to know more. As I open the pages to the Prologue/First Chapter I smell the coolness come off the pages, and sometimes it smells like the lattes I just had a Barnes and Noble or fresh off the hot press scent and I want to see what else the book has got to show me.

This is downright poetic, right? I mean as a woman I have the pleasure of being enjoyed as  a book, but then we have the eBook. According to Chris Meadows of Teleread.com, “…Amazon’s press release states that over 790,000 of the Kindle Store’s 950,000 eBooks are priced at 9.99 or less” this means that of course we would stray from what we are familair with and go to what is cheaper. This cheaper method has its advantages: cheaper to publish, cheaper to buy, and just plain Green friendly. The downside for this medium is that its electronic and the regular enjoyment of a book is lost. A machine breaks down, you cannot properly loan out ebooks(although I hear there are changes being made about this), and for now there aren’t free iPads and Kindles lying around libraries for patrons to just click on and read.

We still need print books.

I published The Prayer Monologues last year through Amazon and was happy with the results, however this year I converted it into an eBook as well just to “get with the times”. It was hard doing it manually, a rough terrain, yet I did it and can’t wait to post an accurate account of sales for my Kindle version.

Here’s a tip for going green with print books:

Buy books by publishers who use recycled paper or borrow books from a library or friend. Trading books helps a lot!

One thought on “eBook Harmony vs. Going Green With Print Books

Comment and Join the Discussion!

