The Death of an (online) Salesman…Wanting to promote but don’t want to become a spammer?

When someone came to your door holding books, or a flyer, and donned a clean starched business suit, or had on perfectly done makeup and told you you can look like this too if you sold these cosmetics and made lots of dough, the first thing that probably popped into your mind was: “Oh, darn it, I should have closed the door!” But usually you would offer a seat, have them sit down, and you casually spoke with the salesperson to see exactly what it was they had to offer. If you did not like it you simply said no thank you and ushered them out of your home.

There was another way people sold products. Outside. At the mall. Hanging up business posters and flyers. Trade conventions and so on.

But still there is another medium or platform where people can sell…online. But there is one problem. Or should I say, a few problems:

Nitpicky people

People who don’t know what spamming truly is

The loss of the ability to socialize and promote without provoking.

First of all, when I socialize on Facebook, Twitter or anywhere else, I am usually looking to enhance my “online friendships” with the hidden objective to sell. I actually have enough friends and I figure we will never be invited to each other’s home offline anyhow so I really don’t wish to fake the funk. Although in the meanwhile I do meet pretty cool people. But when I want to promote a really good offer(since I am a business person), I should not have to worry about sensitive people saying I “spammed them”-I’ve never done that. Merriam Webster’s dictionary defines spamming as” sending unwanted emails to someone” okay, fine. But while I am socializing I am seeing if my business could help your business or can you at least check it out? Or just say ‘no thanks?

Unfortunately for me and my husband we are learning that sometimes you can’t promote to people or anything else for that matter. Read my horror story to find out about mine. His, well, is much worse. To make a long story extremely short, he joined this site and wanted to share some awesome artworks with the established community. He read the guidelines, shared comments about each person’s photos, and then…uh oh, emailed someone that he liked their artwork and shared a link to our business.

Well, they locked him out of his account.

Here’s my thing. I think this is going too far. If someone wants me to check out their business or product, then I will if I have the time. I found an awesome recording artist because I spent all of five seconds clicking on her link and hearing her music now I have her CDs! I mean is it really that bad?

So for those of you who wish not get locked out because you want to shamelessly promote, here is what I suggest:

-Remain faithful to social networking. It is a great medium to rekindle old friendships and make awesome online buddies.

If you really must promote when you visit websites, just leave your name with your business website. For example when you sign up to join a website, mention in your profile about your business, this could simply mean putting the url to your business on said profile.

While socializing on the net, socialize about 90% and do 10% promotions, or whichever higher socializing percentage you can take. This means be “kind” and talk about fluff and clouds, share baby pics, etc. But sneakily throw in a great deal or offer they may want to check out.

People love free stuff. Offer that more often. They wouldn’t tattle tell that you’re  a spammer then!

That’s all I have for now. The salesman isn’t dying, he’s just cooking up Spam.

Comment and Join the Discussion!

