Tracking an Author Series…When Your Character Deviates From the Plan

Photo by twenty_questions

I had a plan. I had an outline. I had to type. Everything was laid out as it was in the foundation of the world. Somehow my character leapt from the pages, strangled me and told me they didn’t like what I had planned.

 

 

 

 

 

The plan was for the hero to be a human boy.

The plan was for the un-human to be a girl.

The plan was for them to instantly fall in love.

What happened was opposite of all those things. I am unsure if it is because my muse has been different music I’ve listened to at night or the books I have been reading. I will focus on that another time, but for now-don’t you just love and hate that at the same time? The beauty of story is that you as the writer is playing as “god”. As what happened during Adam and Eve’s day, they kinda sorta deviated from God’s plan, but it brought forth something new…Free Will.

Yes Eve listened to the serpent.

Yes Adam took part of it.

Yes God was disappointed.

Yet their banishment from Paradise and the children they had went through many journeys(and still are) to make for interesting chapters. Okay, hopefully that wasn’t a terrible analogy but there you have it. I deviated from my plan of not being religious.

Happy writing! :)

One comment on “Tracking an Author Series…When Your Character Deviates From the Plan

Leave a Reply

